The six stages of systems development life cycle (SDLC Essay

Posted: November 5th, 2022

The six stages of systems development life cycle (SDLC Essay

Please respond to the discussion by Asking a probing question, substantiated with additional background information, evidence or research in a positive way. Please use APA 6th ed within 3 years. Thanks. Nurses are at the forefront of patients care and therefore any implementation of health information technology (HIT) should include involving nurses in the process. The six stages of systems development life cycle (SDLC) include Feasibility (assessing the needs that the system should address), Analysis ( analyze specifications for the system), Design ( design development and test the system), Implement ( implement the system), Test (test the system), and Maintain (maintain and evaluate the system) (Laureate Education 2012).The six stages of systems development life cycle (SDLC Essay.       The first step in implementing SDLC is feasibility. I believe this is the most important step in SDLC. Getting nurse’s input in assessing the need that the system should address is vital. Nurses do direct patient care and communicate between the patient, physician, ancillary staff and family members. Nurses can give input on what type of documentations are important, and where should it be included on the dashboard in the order of importance. Assessing the needs from nurses point of view can help developers get a sense of what type of documentation to include. At this stage the nurses can give input into problems that exist and possible solutions that can be used. Analysis stage is where workflow and business practices are examined (McGonigle, 2018 p. 179). Tasks include prioritizing the requirement, generating and evaluating alternatives, reviewing organizational policies, and making recommendations for management. Without the input from end users (nurses), the system developed may not be able to meet organizational needs and can cause delays, data loss, errors, and breakdown of communication processes. The design phase determines the architecture and operation of the system with regard to processes, hardware, software, networking, data retrieval, and user interface. Nurses’ input is important at this phase to design software, hardware, and user interface that is necessary and important to the organization. During implementation phase, the system is customized, tested, and installed. Nurses input is needed to check for any flaws in the system, and make any changes to the system. If flaws are not discovered at this point it can lead to costing a lot more later, in terms of time and money. During the testing phase, the whole system is tested for its usefulness, and getting the nurses involved can show the flaws of the system and also any improvements that are needed. Some of the things that may have been missed during implementation phase maybe discovered at this point and changed if necessary. Healthcare is a dynamic field, where depending on evidence presented, new policies are implemented and some old ways of doing things, that don’t work anymore are eliminated.The six stages of systems development life cycle (SDLC Essay.  The system constantly needs to be adapted to the new practices the changing roles of staff and interpersonal relationships, and ever evolving technology, environment, and organization needs have to be constantly accommodated into system design ( Rehani, N. 2013). The nurses‘ input is important to make improvements or changes to the system. References Laureate Education (Producer) (2012) Systems Development Life Cycler.


Baltimore MD : Author. Retrieved from McGonigle, D. & Mastrian, K.G. (2018). Nursing Informatics and the foundation of knowledge (4th ed.). Burlington, MA: Jones and Bartlett Learning. Rehani, N. (2013). Using SDLC Methodology to Implement HIT. Retrieved from

Systems development lifecycle

The post outlines and discusses the steps inherent in systems development lifecycle (SDLC). SDLC is a well-structured framework that matches technology effectiveness and efficiency to cost, time and customer expectations. In fact, it is a theoretical model that loosely outlines the procedures and policies that should be applied when developing and changing existing technology systems within the health care industry throughout the technology’s lifecycle (Schwalbe& Furlong, 2013). SDLC focuses on seven activities that include requirements, design, implementation, testing, deployment, operations, and maintenance. It begins with planning where approval is obtained for the technology to be implemented in terms of schedule, plan, feasibility, and initiation. This is followed by analysis where the processing and business needs of the technology are discussed. Next, the technology design is presented as a solution to the previous analysis. The technology implementation follows whereby the technology is constructed, tested, users trained and installed. Finally, maintenance is carrier out to ensure that the technology remains health even as it is improved over time (Whiteley, 2013). The six stages of systems development life cycle (SDLC Essay. For the lifecycle to be complete, the first step entails specifying and determining the technology requirements from the perspective of its users. The second step conducts a feasibility analysis that presents the reasons why the technology should either be accepted or rejected. The third step analyses the system specifications in terms of functionality. The fourth step is the technology design that reviews the technology logics and test results. The fifth step is to implement the system and revise it where necessary. The final step is to evaluate and maintain the technology so that it remains operational and relevant (Shirley, 2016). While the mentioned steps are important, it is important to note that they would only be successful if stakeholders (particularly nursing personnel) are actively involved and required to apply management, analytical, technical and interpersonal skills (Jensen, 2014). In this respect, the steps outlined in the SDLC present the stepwise features that should be considered when handling medical technology.


Jensen, S. (2014). Nursing health assessment: a best practice approach (2nded.). Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

Schwalbe, K. & Furlong, D. (2013). Healthcare project management. Basel: Schwalbe Publishing.

Shirley, D. (2016). Project management for healthcare. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press.

Whiteley, D. (2013). An introduction to information systems. New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan. The six stages of systems development life cycle (SDLC Essay

Expert paper writers are just a few clicks away

Place an order in 3 easy steps. Takes less than 5 mins.

Calculate the price of your order

You will get a personal manager and a discount.
We'll send you the first draft for approval by at
Total price:
Live Chat+1 (631)333-0101EmailWhatsApp